LGBTQ+ Democrats Endorse Florida’s Democratic Congressional Delegation

May 18, 2020

DELRAY BEACH, FL – Today the Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus is announcing its first round of endorsements for the 2020 election. After a careful review of statements, support and Congressional records, the Caucus membership voted to endorse Florida’s Democratic Congressional Delegation for reelection:

• Rep. Al Lawson (CD-5)
• Rep. Stephanie Murphy (CD-7)
• Rep. Darren Soto (CD-9)
• Rep. Val Demings (CD-10)
• Rep. Charlie Crist (CD-13)
• Rep. Kathy Castor (CD-14)
• Rep. Alcee Hastings (CD-20)
• Rep. Lois Frankel (CD-21)
• Rep. Ted Deutch (CD-22)
• Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (CD-23)
• Rep. Frederica Wilson (CD-24)
• Rep. Debbie Murcarsel-Powell (CD-26)
• Rep. Donna Shalala (CD-27)

Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus President Stephen Gaskill issued the following statement on the Caucus’ endorsement:

“We are proud to endorse Florida’s Democratic members of Congress for reelection. All 13 Representatives have furthered the cause of equality for LGBTQ+ Floridians, and we thank them for their strong support of our community. Our work is not done in the struggle for equality. We need their voices in Congress fighting for us.”

Susan McGrath, Campaign Director of the Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus, highlighted the impact on legislative goals:

“We’re making this endorsement because we know we can always count on them to support LGBTQ+ equality. From passing the Equality Act to allowing patriotic trans service members to serve openly to blocking the Trump Administration’s attempts to enshrine discrimination in federal regulations, Florida’s Democratic Congressional Delegation will do what’s right, fair, and just.”

# # #