Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus Congratulates Its Endorsed Candidates


DELRAY BEACH, FL – The Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus congratulates its endorsed candidates who won their primaries or advanced to the general election in November:

  • Shevrin Jones, Florida Senate, District 35
  • Angie Nixon, Florida House, District 14
  • Omari Hardy, Florida House, District 88
  • Michele Rayner, Florida House, District 70 (Unopposed in the general election)
  • Jacquelyn McMiller, Mayor of Fort Myers
  • Daniella Levine Cava, Mayor of Miami-Dade County

Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus President Stephen Gaskill issued the following statement on the Caucus’ endorsed candidates:

“It’s been an incredible primary night for Florida’s LGBTQ community. Michele Rayner will be the first Black lesbian in the Florida House. Shevrin Jones is another step closer to becoming the first openly LGBTQ state senator. Equality champions Angie Nixon and Omari Hardy defeated notoriously anti-LGBTQ incumbents. Jacquelyn McMiller and Daniella Levine Cava moved on in competitive local races. Our community is making history and electing champions who will represent everyone in their communities, including their LGBTQ constituents.”

# # #