Support for Statewide Candidates, Federal and State Legislative Candidates

Membership Threshold Not Met on Gubernatorial Race

GAINESVILLE — The Florida LGBTA Democratic Caucus, representing the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community to the Florida Democratic Party, announces its full list of endorsements for the August 28th primary election. Caucus membership voted on these endorsements at our Summer Conference in West Palm Beach on Saturday, July 28, and includes candidates and Constitutional amendments. The announcement was held to notify candidates.

In the state’s most watched election — for governor — no candidate received the required two-thirds vote of eligible voting members participating to receive the endorsement. Utilizing a successive voting process whereby the candidate with the least amount of votes was eliminated each round, the final two candidates were Andrew Gillum and Gwen Graham. Neither secured the two-thirds threshold to win endorsement.

Following is the full list of endorsed candidates this cycle:

Endorsed July 28, 2018:


CD-6: Nancy Soderberg

CD-7: Rep. Stephanie Murphy

CD-10: Rep. Val Demings

CD-12: Chris Hunter

CD-16: David Shapiro

CD-19: David Holden

CD-20: Rep. Alcee Hastings

Gubernatorial & Cabinet

Governor: No Endorsement

Attorney General: Sean Shaw

CFO: State Senator Jeremy Ring

Commissioner of Agriculture: No Endorsement


House District 55: Audrey Asciutto

House District 89: James Bonfiglio

House District 115: Dr Jeffrey Solomon

House District 106: Sara McFadden

Previously endorsed and already announced:


US Senator Bill Nelson

CD-3: Yvonne Hayes Hinson

CD-5: Rep. Al Lawson

CD-8: Sanjay Patel

CD-9: Rep. Darren Soto

CD-13: Rep. Charlie Crist

CD-15: Andrew Learned

CD-17: April Freeman

CD-18: Lauren Baer

CD-22: Rep. Ted Deutch

CD-23: Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz

CD-27: State Representative David Richardson


House District 28: Lee Mangold

House District 37: Tammy Garcia

House District 49: Representative Carlos Guillermo Smith

In addition, the state Caucus endorsed candidates recommended by local chapters. These include:

Stonewall Democrats of Alachua County

Senate District 8: Kayser Enneking

House District 21: Amol Jethwani

School Board: Rob Hyatt

School Board: Tina Certain

Dolphin Democrats (Broward County)

Senate District 34: Gary Farmer

House District 92: Paulette Armstead

House District 93: Emma Collum

House District 96: Saima Farooqui

House District 97: Jared Moscowitz

House District 98: Andrew Dolberg

House District 105: Javier Estevez

Hillsborough County LGBTA Democratic Caucus

House District 59: Adam Hattersley

House District 60: Debra Bellanti

House District 63: Fentrice Driskell

Commissioner District 4: Andrew Davis Hillsborough

Lee County LGBTQA Democratic Caucus

House District 76: David Bogner

House District 78: Parisima Taeb

School District Seat 4: Debbie Jordan

Fort Myers City Council Seat 4: Christopher Pierce

Pasco LGBTA Democratic Caucus

County Commission District 2: Kelly Smith

County Commission District 4: Brandi Geoit

Stonewall Democrats of Pinellas County

Senate District 16: Amanda Murphy

House District 66: Alex Heeren

House District 69: Jennifer Webb

County Commission District 6: Amy Kedron

School Board District 6: Matt Stewart

Rainbow Ridge LGBTA Democratic Caucus of Polk County

Senate District 22: Bob Doyel

Senate District 26: Catherine Price

House District 42: Barbara Cady

County Commission District 4: Karen Cooper Welzel

School Board District 3: Sarah Fortney

Constitutional amendment positions approved by membership on July 28, 2018 are listed below. The Caucus had voted earlier to support Amendment 4, the Voter Restoration for Felons Initiative.

The Caucus SUPPORTS:

Amendment 3: Requires voter approval of casino gambling

Amendment 9: Bans offshore oil and gas drilling and vaping in enclosed indoor workplaces

Amendment 13: Prohibits betting on dog races

The Caucus OPPOSES:

Amendment 1: Grants an additional $25,000 homestead exemption for homes worth $125,000 or more.

Amendment 2: Makes permanent what currently is a temporary cap of 10 percent on annual property value increases for vacation homes, apartments and commercial property, effectively limiting increases on tax bills. (2nd homes and commercial) property assessment increases permanent

Amendment 5: Requires 2/3 vote of legislature to impose or increase tax or fee instead of a simple majority.

Amendment 6: Adds a Marsy’s Law (victims’ rights) to state constitution, increases judicial retirement age; prohibits judges from deferring to administrative agencies to interpret law

Amendment 7: Requires death benefits for first responders and military members, a supermajority vote for college fees, and adds state college system structure to constitution

Amendment 8: Establishes school board term limits; allows state to operate non-board established schools; requires civic literacy

Amendment 11: Repeals some obsolete language; repeals a provision saying that changes to a criminal statute are not retroactive

The Caucus took NO POSITION on:

Amendment 10: Prohibits counties from abolishing certain local offices, changes start date of legislative sessions, and adds an executive office and executive department to constitution

Amendment 12: Prohibits public officials from lobbying for compensation while in office and 6 years thereafter.

# # #