2020 Endorsements

The Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus and its county chapters endorse in all levels of government from President to School Board.  Candidates may submit a request for endorsement after the qualifying period is complete. Candidates for federal and statewide office may apply to the state caucus for endorsement.

Candidates for state legislature as well as county and city offices are encouraged to apply to your local chapter for endorsement.  Please see the Chapters page for a list. If no chapter exists in your area, you may apply to the state caucus using the legislative candidate questionnaire above.

If you have questions, please contact campaign@lgbtqdems.org.

2020 Presidential Endorsement

LGBTQ+ Democrats Endorse Joe Biden for President

2020 Congressional Endorsements

LGBTQ+ Democrats Endorse Florida’s Democratic Congressional Delegation

  • Rep. Al Lawson (CD-5)
  • Rep. Stephanie Murphy (CD-7)
  • Rep. Darren Soto (CD-9)
  • Rep. Val Demings (CD-10)
  • Rep. Charlie Crist (CD-13)
  • Rep. Kathy Castor (CD-14)
  • Rep. Alcee Hastings (CD-20)
  • Rep. Lois Frankel (CD-21)
  • Rep. Ted Deutch (CD-22)
  • Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (CD-23)
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (CD-24)
  • Rep. Debbie Murcarsel-Powell (CD-26)
  • Rep. Donna Shalala (CD-27)

LGBTQ+ Democrats Endorse Congressional Challenger Candidates

2020 State Legislative Endorsements

2020 Local Endorsements

Alachua County

  • Ayesha Solomon, County Property Appraiser
  • Diyonne McGraw, County School Board District 1
  • Leanetta McNealy, County School Board District 2
  • Mary Alford, County Commission District 1
  • Anna Prizzia, County Commission District 3

Brevard County

  • Alton Edmond, Sheriff
  • Sanjay Patel, County Commission, District 3
  • Paul Kellem, Canaveral Port Authority, District 4
  • Jennifer Jenkins, School Board, District 3
  • Kay Maragh, Palm Bay Mayor

Broward County

Hillsborough County

Lee County


Orange County

Palm Beach County

Pinellas County

  • Pinellas County Commission, District 3: Charlie Justice
  • Pinellas County Commission, District 1 : Janet Long
  • Largo City Commission Seat 3 : Eric Gerard
  • Florida House District 69: Jennifer Webb
  • Florida House District 66: Patricia Plantamura
  • Pinellas Supervisor of Elections: Dan Helm
  • Pinellas Tax Collector: Joe Saportas

Sarasota County

  • Thomas Edwards, School Board, District 3
  • David Graham, School Board, District 2
  • Cory Hutchinson, County Commission, District 3
  • Dan Clermont, City Commission, District 3
  • Krista Lohr, Charter Review Board, District 1
  • Wilson Pava, Charter Review Board, District 4
  • Sean Patton, Soil & Water Board, #1

Seminole County

  • Deborah Poulalion, Seminole County Supervisor of Elections
  • Lynn Moira Dictor, Seminole County Tax Collector

Constitutional Amendments

  • Amendment 1: Would unnecessarily amend the State Constitution to say “only a citizen” of the US can vote in Florida instead of the current “every citizen.” VOTE NO
  • Amendment 2: Incrementally raises the minimum wage every year from the current $8.45/hour to $15/hour by 2026 to make it easier for small businesses. VOTE YES
  • Amendment 3: Creates a Jungle Primary, NOT an open primary and only applies to State elections, potentially causing voter confusion. VOTE NO
  • Amendment 4: Hinders citizen-led initiatives by requiring that any constitutional amendment requires passage in two elections instead of just one. VOTE NO
  • Amendment 5: Increases the time from 2 to 3 years that Save-Our-Homes benefits can be transferred from a prior homestead to a new one. VOTE YES
  • Amendment 6: Allows a homestead property tax discount to be transferred to the surviving spouse of a deceased veteran. VOTE YES