Endorsed Candidates:

The Stonewall Democrats announced their list of endorsed candidates.

The endorsement came after an extensive candidate screening process. Our political committee reviewed information provided by the candidates utilizing our questionnaire. Also, the committee met with each of the individuals to assess their commitment to equality for all Floridians and their viability in the upcoming election.

The Stonewall Democrats of Pinellas County voted to endorse the following candidates:

Congressional Candidates:
Jonathan Snow – Congressional District 12
Jessica Ehrlich – Congressional District 13

County Candidates:
Scott Swope – Pinellas County Sheriff
Janet Long – County Commissioner, Dist 1
Charlie Justice – County Commissioner, Dist 3
Ken Welch – County Commissioner, Dist 7

State House Candidates:
Carl Zimmerman – Dist. 65
Mary Lou Ambrose – Dist. 66
Benn Farrell – Dist. 67
Dwight Dudley – Dist. 68
Josh Shulman – Dist. 69

School Board Candidates:
Janet Clark – Dist. 1
Rene Flowers – Dist. 7

Mayor of Dunedin:
Bob Hackworth

Although the Stonewall Democrats cannot make endorsements in the Pinellas County 2012 judicial elections, we can make the following recommendations:

Please vote NO on the amendments and vote YES to retain the three Supreme Court Justices.

Stonewall Democrats of Pinellas County is devoted to advancing equal rights for all people, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. As a Democratic organization, SDPC will work with the Democratic Party and support fair-minded Democratic leaders and candidates who support our mission. Our organization’s strength comes from Pinellas County lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT), and allied Democrats working together.